• Featured: JYJ ‘The…’

    TVXQ members Hero JaeJoong, Micky YooChun and Xiah JunSu release new Japanese album 'The...', much to the delight of fans.

    Check out the song 'Itsu Datte Kimi Ni'.

  • Archives

    • 39,513,245 hits
  • Meta

Lee Hyori acknowledges plagiarism in her 4th album ‘H-Logic’

Singer Lee Hyori acknowledges that there has been plagiarism in her latest album.

Lee Hyori recently had many fans wondering why she will not be promoting the followup song for her 4th album ‘H-Logic’ after the title song ‘Chitty Chitty Bang Bang’. She wrote on her fancafe on 20th June, “We would like to reveal that the original composer of the songs to my 4th album is not Bahnus.”

The songs in questions are namely ‘Swing’, ‘Bring It Back’, ‘I’m Back’, ‘How Did We Get’, ‘Feel The Same’ and ‘Memory’. Hyori added, ” We will do what we have to and put that behind us, we will take moral responsibility.”

With that, Lee Hyori had ended her 4th album promotions in just 2 months without a followup hit.

S:Newsen

Everyone, Hello… From Hyori

100620 01:21

It looks like it’s been a while since I wrote an entry here.

After the release of my 4th album, many interrogations rose, it was frustrating for me and you must have been curious about these issues at some point .

I’ve been asking myself whether I should tell you all of it or not, there were things to take into consideration, and after I figured it out, time has passed… and it took me some time to talk to you.

It must have been frustrating for you as well, I’m truly sorry about that…

When I was making the album, in the beginning, I received songs from Bahnus.

When we released it, plagiarism issues were raised, there was something wrong.

I, too, believed everything he told me, there was no way we could know.

The company first received the songs from him, under his name, and we didn’t suspect anything.

But we kept moving forward, and words risen again, suspicion, artists saying that he wasn’t the original composer of the songs, that he stole them and claimed these were his.

Finding the original producers of the songs was hard and it took some time to make sure everything we heard was the truth. We investigated  about him and we found out that the songs were not his.

We know for sure that 2 songs out of the 6 songs that we recorded are not his, we already contacted the original composers.

About the remaining songs, we couldn’t find the original creators but the company is still looking into it and will take care of this matter.

We will do what we have to and put that behind us, we will take moral responsibility.

I wanted to release the album soon, it took me a long time to make it as I wanted to, and I also wanted to promote it

for a long period, until these issues are solved, I can’t do that anymore.

The truth is that, for these problems to be solved, a long time is needed.

These matters take time to be put behind.

It’s unfortunate but it appears that it will be impossible for me to lead successful album activities for now.

I’m truly sorry for you who expected more from me and waited for something else…

I’ve always been passionate when recording songs for my albums, although I went through a lot and experienced headaches.

My heart aches, because I couldn’t promise you something perfect, I’ve been constantly blaming myself.

But instead of being helpless, I feel that it is my responsibility to step up and to take care of this. It’s my responsibilty to handle anything I do well.

For putting you all through this with me, I apologize, once again to all of you.

I want to always show you the best of me.

I’ll be working even harder to show you the best of me.

I will show you more, the best.

Netizens’ reactions to Lee Hyori’s truthful confession, “It’s a brave act”, “She is far better than artistes who would deny plagiarisms till the end”, “It is too much that it is plagiarisms for 6 songs”, “It must be a shock for her to know only now that there have been plagiarism when she is one of the producers of the album” etc. [Snippet from Newsen]

37 Responses

  1. Awww.
    I agree, i think she should come back with another album.
    This album debut timing was so messed up also!

  2. […] medio de la prensa luego de todos los Hyori Lee acuse de plagio en su 4 º álbum de ‘H-Lógica’ y pasar de Mnet Media a una nueva agencia B2M entretenimiento, aquí hay algo de la diva en un […]

  3. […] all the news following Lee Hyori’s acknowledgement of plagiarism in her 4th album ‘H-Logic’ and moving from Mnet Media to a new agency B2M Entertainment, here’s something from the diva […]

  4. sad…..

    she is the best to me. thing like this shudn’t happen to her…

  5. Aw Hyori. I’m glad she spoke up.

    I was disappointed when the news broke out that she wasn’t promoting a follow-up song, but I understand why now.

    All the problems with those plagiarized songs. ]:

    I enjoyed her album, but it sucked hearing bout plagiarism.
    I wanna see her back with a better album. ^^
    I still support her. <33

  6. […] Lee Hyori recently acknowledged plagiarism in her latest 4th album. And she has all her promotional activites on hold currently to see to the […]

  7. Good of her to take action and responsibility for her career, U Go Girl

  8. I will always support u,Hyori…U are always the best…

  9. Very classy to be honest and admit the plagiarism that occurred. You juniors should take note…they can learn a lot from you on hoe do deal with such situations.

  10. she really is much more mature in the industry and know how to handle these things gracefully compared to most other kpop entertainers.. very proud of her

  11. So can we now say this is the REAL reason she is not promoting a second single instead of blaming the sinking of the Korean ship?? She should apologize for THAT lame excuse.

  12. Fans are showing their support on twitter,tweet #supportleehyori !

  13. This is good on Hyori’s part because when plagiarism issues come up the artist themselves usually don’t say anything because it’s all the company’s decision, but it’s nice to see Hyori taking responsibility and speaking out about it.

  14. […] Newsen, Translations: K Bites Everyone, Hello… From […]

  15. I forgave you hyori.
    At first I was really pissed about this but hyori is still cool as she is.
    She was wrong about this and she admitted it. It was harder than produced any music to accept your fault and mistake.
    Hyori is such a cool woman. She would be a best friend ever if I get to know her.😄

  16. Surprise!! Really, I am. Not about the accusations being true but to have someone come out and admit to this is really rare which is surprising. All those threats from Bahnus were empty. hehehe.

    I still like Hyori =D

  17. Go hyori. You are still one best korean artist ^^

  18. i feel sad for her..she so kind and warm…miss her on variety
    fighting onni…everything is gonna be ok…

  19. Poor hyori
    At least she takes the responsibility

  20. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Eileen Teo and princess bb, Kazzy. Kazzy said: RT @sookyeong: Lee Hyori acknowledges plagiarism in her 4th album 'H-Logic' http://wp.me/phE2s-9om […]

  21. I bought her album because she’s my fave female solo act. I knew ‘How Did We Get’ was straight out of Jason Derulo’s book, other than that, nothing.

    I’m split on this issue because as an artist YOU have to be in the know-all with your music, or any music you want to put your name on. But the producer did say it was his. IDK, Hyori and her company said they’ll take moral responsibility but also blamed everything on Bahnus. So IDK, its done and over with I guess.

    Just a side comment, I thought ‘Highlight’ was a good song, she could’ve followed-up that song!

    • highlight was supposely created by bahnus. therefore that song is stolen too. mnet going to have to figure out who owns that song too. since the credits claimed bahnus made it

  22. fightinggg~!!! be strongg

  23. it’s good that she admits it and is in the process of setting things straight…can’t really blame everything on her, it would’ve been hard to know that the songs Bahnus gave them were someone elses…

  24. she still been the best *0*

  25. well well well. all this time of ignoring the so called hearsay tips we gave. it seems like we was right all along. anyway i am not happy she feels bad but i am glad justice will be given to the real owners aka the indie singers who deserve all the credit for the great songs they made.🙂

  26. wth! plagiarism issues again?!?!?!?

    very disappointing since her comeback is one of the most-anticipated ones in kpop…

  27. damnnn gurrrr

  28. At least she will admit it.

  29. I Still Support You Hyori ^___^
    Fighting!!

Comments are closed.

