• Featured: JYJ ‘The…’

    TVXQ members Hero JaeJoong, Micky YooChun and Xiah JunSu release new Japanese album 'The...', much to the delight of fans.

    Check out the song 'Itsu Datte Kimi Ni'.

  • Archives

    • 39,516,036 hits
  • Meta

Kim HyunJoong confirmed for drama ‘Mischievous Kiss’

Group SS501′s Kim Hyun Joong has been chosen as the final lead for ‘It started with a kiss’ / ‘Mischievous kiss’.

Kim Hyun Joong’s side Keyeast has revealed that they successfully finished discussions with the drama’s production company Group Eight recently. However, although Kim Hyun Joong has not had signed the papers with Group Eight, they have finished and confirmed his partake in the drama. In awhile more, Group Eight will be releasing official notice of this.

To Kim Hyun Joong’s participation in this drama, he has been on a fiery go with many other strong rivals right until the end, with considered nominees like CN Blue’s Jung Yong Hwa and DBSG’s ChangMin. Though ChangMin was the final consideration along side Kim Hyun Joong right until the final decision, and that his agency SM Entertainment did meet up with Group Eight with quite a keen stand, MBC’s production company has finally taken a firm stand with Kim Hyun Joong as the choice for male protagonist.

Kim Hyun Joong’s character name will be Baek Seung Jo in the drama, and he plays a genius who has never failed in getting a Number 1 across the entire school who particularly excels in physical education and cooking, not just that, he is also a perfect guy who knows almost every thing under the sky. He will be falling in love with a simple girl Moon Ha Ni (undecided for choice) who has never done anything right, on the contrary to him.

The drama’s production company felt that Kim Hyun Joong’s Yoon JiHoo in Boys over Flowers is somewhat similar to this Baek Seung Jo of ‘It started with a kiss’. Though that being the case, Yoon Ji Hoo was a character very sweet and loving, whereas Baek Seung Jo is one who is cocky and proud, totally on the stark end.

As for the female lead Moon Ha Ni, it hasn’t been decided as of yet. Considered nominee Park Bo Young is facing contract issues with agency company, so her participation will be considered with reservations. As to actress Park Shin Hye, KARA’s Han Seung Yeon, f(x)’s Sulli have all been undergoing auditions for the role, which was gaining about a huge amount of attention after this was known.

‘It started with a kiss’ will begin airing after ‘Road Number One’ drama on MBC in latter half of year.

  • Credit: sports korea
  • English translation: SS501Ode.blogspot.com

53 Responses

  1. You seem to be a very sincere person but seriously it won’t do any good and besides there are tons of people who are happy he has been cast. They just don’t go on all the blogs and sites and get into it with the one’s who don’t because it is pointless. They won’t change their minds and suddenly say he is a good actor any more than you will change the minds of those who cast KHJ in this drama. Why not wait and see if he actually pulls this off? He seems to really want to succeed in acting so you never know he may do an outstanding job. If we as compassionate people don’t give others a chance to succeed and not judge, especially before an attempt to succeed is even made, then what’s the point in any of it?

    • You know, nunya, I am considering the option of waiting it out as well.. There were one or two comments that made me think, ‘Why not just let it pass? And hope for the best.’

      I’m pretty certain this petition won’t succeed, but, I hope that my petition may lead Group 8 to realise how seriously we take this adaptation. It may even lead Kim Hyun Joong to realise what Itazura na Kiss fans expect of him.

      It’s Group 8 I don’t trust, not so much Kim Hyun Joong.

      I want to believe that KHJ will amaze us all with a jaw dropping performance, I’m just afraid that he won’t do well.

      • It seems to be a risk KHJ is willing to take, so I am willing to give him the benefit of the doubt, and support his decision. Also because of the new company he has signed with I think he may have some better guidance this time around.

        One thing I do know for sure is that KHJ knows what fans expect and he works really hard in everything he does, so I think he might just be able to pull this off. Of course I could be wrong but I will still give him a chance either way. I can’t force others to feel that way though. I wish they would but wishing doesn’t get it done.

        I don’t know enough about Group 8 to have a credible opinion so I can’t comment on that. I just hope like I said before that he will have better guidance this time and give us the performance we are all hoping for. Can’t let fear keep any of us from taking chances.

  2. For those who prefer that the role of Baek Seung Jo go to someone else, please join the Facebook group

    Change Lead Actor for Playful Kiss/Itazura na Kiss remake…

    Here’s the link : http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=130923776943858&ref=mf

    I hope I’m not spamming.

    • Oops, sorry about that.. Didn’t know the link would turn out like that. Anyway, the name of the Facebook group is Change Lead Actor for Playful Kiss/Itazura na Kiss remake.

      Hopefully our comments get some attention from Group 8, Hwang In Roe and Kim Hyun Joong himself. No offence to Hyun Joong, but, he’s not right for the role. All the best to him in his other endeavours..

    • This is the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen. You can’t be serious. Fine you don’t like the guy but really isn’t this going a little overboard. It won’t do any good anyway. He has way more fans than he has antis.

    • I never said I don’t like Kim Hyun Joong.
      I’m definitely not an anti-fan.

      But, these past few days everyone’s been saying true fans should support him no matter what.

      It’s rare to see a fan who actually stands up and says, ‘I like you but I don’t think this is a good decision you’re making.’

      Situation :
      You’re taking a hike in the woods and you come across a rabbit trap. You avoid it successfully.
      A few days later, you see someone else taking the same trail. Would you warn the person that there’s a trap ahead, take the trap away or do nothing and say, ‘Everything will be fine. I support you.’ ?

      I don’t believe this is illegal or going out of bounds. I am serious. Maybe you’ve read my blog. Maybe you’ve seen the amount of backlash I’m receiving from Kim Hyun Joong’s fans. On another note, I don’t believe it’s right to call an artist or his fans names.. I don’t want to do that. Of course, you have not called me names or thrown insults at me and I’m glad you haven’t. I wouldn’t boycott a drama just because I think a particular actor fails to play his or her character.

      My attempts may seem ridiculous, but I believe that what I’m doing is perfectly alright as long as I’m not tearing down Kim Hyun Joong’s character or throwing insults at everyone who opposes my actions.

  3. moon geun yong – jung yong hwa would’ve been nice I think? Like him, but no offense his acting sorta sucks :p hope he’ll improve😀 will be looking forward to this drama!!😀

  4. A Robot Kim Hyun Joong.

  5. Itazura na kiss!! okay so it’s confirmed already KHJ is naoki… All i request for him is not to have blonde or any light-coloured hair but it will totally destroy the character and the hair must not be long.. Woaaa hopefully he proved me wrong because i love naoki’s arrogantness.. hope he can act his character well..

    as for the girls.. hmmm isnt sulli tall?? the female character is more of cute and petite and gullible.. park shin hye fits but i dont know sumtin is missing from her.. han seung yeon would be weird if they act together since they’re be kissing and such and getting married.. errrr… hope they find someone worthy..

  6. lee min ho is perfect for naoki’s role in mischievous kiss, handsome yet cold same as gu jun pyo in bof. Please group 8 reconsider lee min ho for the role. We love and miss lee min ho so much. Lee min ho is perfect for the role. Naoki is lee min ho. Lee min ho is Naoki.

  7. i hope group 8 will reconsider lee min ho to take the lead role in mischievous kiss because i think lee min ho can portray the role a lot better than kim hyun joong come on guys ive been dreaming about this drama only for lee min ho pleease dont make the fans upset. We miss lee min ho so much.

  8. […] of that, it has been revealed that SS501 Kim HyunJoong has been confirmed as male lead for the drama, Sulli is amongst the possible female lead for the drama apart from Park ShinHye and KARA Han […]

  9. MBC chose the wrong actor. Changmin would suit the character better. I hope they don’t ruin the show because I really like ISWAK.

    I would probably like ShinHye on this show just because she will be able to carry it. But, I think in the end they will give it to Sulli which will be really awkward because I don’t see her with HyunJoong.

    Changmin + Sulli would be a great tandem. But since they chose HyunJoong it should go to ShinHye.

  10. This drama will be the sequel of “The Robot Face, Kim Hyunjoong”.

  11. i hope lead actriss are shin hye ssi,,,,, because she’s the best !!!!!! shinhye is cute girl’s … i hope about it !!!

  12. i juz knew that changmin was the other candidate o.0
    i only saw yonghwa’s name before..
    and now i want to know who is the 2nd male lead..
    i barely watched the taiwanese version n i like the 2nd lead, jiro wang.. so i hope someone i like will be 2nd male lead😄

    yay for hyunjoong… he didn’t do well in BOF *cough* but i still love him.. LOL.. i hope he can do better this time.. hyunjoong fighting!! prove that u can act..

    park shin hye will be great.. she’s really a good actress..

  13. […] of that, it has been revealed that SS501 Kim HyunJoong has been confirmed as male lead for the drama, Sulli is amongst the possible female lead for the drama apart from Park ShinHye and KARA Han […]

  14. I hope he can act this time

  15. The story reminds me of the japanese manga SPECIAL A?!

  16. I’d say I’ll give him a CHANCE!

  17. […] of that, it has been revealed that SS501 Kim HyunJoong has been confirmed as male lead for the drama, Sulli is amongst the possible female lead for the drama apart from Park ShinHye and KARA Han […]

  18. I LOVE ISWAK!!! it’s like my fave drama all time…
    i want PSH to be ariel’s hehe…
    i wanted LMH…. well… maybe Hyunjoong will pull it off

  19. lets give him a chance, im sure he has improved🙂

  20. WTH ?

    come on people, GIVE HIM A CHANCE !

    At first, in “Boys over flowers”, I think his acting was a bit awkward but it has improved at the middle of the drama and I think he did well for his 1ST DRAMA.

    This time, his role suits him … in ISWAK, “Baek Seung Jo” is the perfect boy , smart, good at cooking, he is loved by everyone … but he is a bit “COLD”, & here is the similarity with Leader♥, when you first see him, he has this cold expression, but that’s because he has problems to express his feelings. The role suits him PERFECTLY !

    Please, give him a chance, i’m sure he will do well. Trust him and do not bash him., please.

    HyunJoong, i’m with you darling ♥

    I hope SeungYeon will act with him. They know each other really well =p

  21. well I hope he improved alot b/c his acting in BOF was so painful to watch I hope Park Shin Hye will get the role she is really good

  22. if he actually improved with his acting then im not worried

    lots of netizens were hoping for another actor though

  23. The main lead in ISWAK is more the Jun Pyo type altho there is a Jihoo there but he is forceful and violent unlike the BOF character .

    I hope they(Korean Version ) put in more interesting twists in the story than what the original offered.

  24. love him , can’t wait.

  25. maybe i just the one think TOP should be the male lead.. >.<
    his face & expressions really fits with Naoki's character ..

    hehe just opinion, sorry for my bad english..

  26. wish him the best. BYJ is beside him, so, i Hope he can success with this drama…

  27. PLEASE tell me he improved on his acting D:
    id be so happy if that just changed
    everything else im going to be fine with
    he just gets so awkward acting ><;;

  28. Hyunjoong. I want to give him a chance.
    I can imagine him as this new character.
    I hope his acting improves.

  29. I wanted changmin or Lee minho. Well I can only hope the girl lead will be better. I don’t think any of the current nominees for the main girl is suitable either. I saw the taiwanese version and the girl has to be slow and average looking, so Sulli and Park shin hye won’t suit the role. Also seung yeon already drop this because of kara’s japanese promotion. I think the role should be played by moon geun young, she can pull off any role.

    • hey, why you always comment on this issue and bring lee min ho for a leading actor..you can’t get it???lee min ho is not included in the company’s selection…people today are become dumb. simple issue can’t understand

  30. Jung Yong Hwa, all the way❤

  31. sorry Kim Hyun Joong fans but his acting SUCKS !!

    • sorry to say to you too that your idol is a totally sucks that’s why he’s not famous isn’t it??????

      • You totally don’t make sense…LOL. just. LOL. Get your grammar straight.

  32. if his acting doesnt improve, i m gonna boycott this show.

  33. Ughh his acting isn’t very good
    I would have prefer a newbie
    jeez they probably picked him for his popularity
    if he was a decent actor I wouldve watched

    I’d rather have changmin or even yonghwa
    at least they show emotions on their faces

    • Yes, I agree.
      I like him, but not when he acts. He’s not a so good actor.
      YongHwa is better when showed his emotions.

      • oh really you like him???? i don’t think soooooo…you’re such a big liar! if you are truly like him, you must support him whatever he will do on his career…..i love to see him on tv screen again! hyunjoong go go go to the top! and you, don’t watch him if he’s not a good actor so that you and the rest of khj’s hater can sleep normally,bwahahahahha

  34. pretty boi 😀

  35. nooo! i like him but he can’t act😦
    why did Lee Min Ho turn this down? Itazura na kiss is like my all time favourite anime😦
    this is gonna be Jihoo sunbae all over again😦

Comments are closed.

